You are here

2016 Winners Announced!

Posted by Morgan White on October 24, 2016

The 2016 ECIP award winners were announced last Wednesday, and they will be given plaques at the annual Campus Sustainability Celebration this week, 10/16 from 4-6 at the Alice Campbell Alumni Center.  Here is the letter.


We would like to recognize your unit as a 2016 Energy Conservation Incentive Program (ECIP) award winner during the Campus Sustainability Celebration on Wednesday, October 26 from 4-6 p.m. at the Alice Campbell Alumni Center. For planning purposes, please let us know who will be accepting the award(s) on behalf of your unit by Friday, October 21.

Sustainability initiatives are at the core of Illinois’ commitment to its land-grant university mission. The Climate Leadership Commitment pledges the Urbana campus to be carbon neutral by 2050, which requires all students, staff, and employees working together to implement a dynamic, multi-disciplinary approach to campus sustainability.

The ECIP awards began in 2013 as a way to recognize outstanding individual and team efforts that move us closer to reaching our Illinois Climate Action Plan (iCAP) goals. The ECIP honors occupants of campus buildings that have reduced energy at the greatest level from one year to the next. This year more than $177,000 for improvement projects in winning facilities will be provided through the program.

Everyone researching, learning, and working in these nine buildings is an ECIP winner, and we encourage as many participants to join the celebration as possible.  Hosted by Facilities & Services and the Institute for Sustainability, Energy, and Environment, the Campus Sustainability Celebration will cover the iCAP objectives, celebrate the diverse sustainability community, and recognize 2016 winners. 

We look forward to you and your employees joining us to celebrate the ECIP winners and their contributions toward campus energy conservation.


 Occupant Action Category

 % Improvement

Incentive Award

1. Atmospheric Sciences Building



2. Krannert Center for the Performing Arts



3. Institute of Government & Public Affairs Building



4. 1207 West Oregon Street (tie)



4. Temple Hoyne Buell Hall (tie)



 Energy Advancement Category

 % Improvement

 Incentive Award

1. Davenport Hall



2. Ceramics Kiln House



3. Transportation Building



4. Rehabilitation Education Center




Helen J. Coleman, LEED AP
Interim Executive Director

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Facilities & Services
1501 South Oak St.
Champaign, IL 61820
Phone: (217) 265-8477