You are here

Sustainable Land Management Committee (In Progress)

Recent Project Updates


The ISEE-ACES-F&S Sustainable Land Management Committee is designed to evaluate and incorporate sustainable land management practices at the University of Illinois South Farms on non-research land and beyond the campus boundaries on some of the University-owned land. This follows the recommendation made by the Agriculture, Land Use, Food, and Sequestration Sustainability Working Advisory Team and Illinois Climate Action Plan (iCAP) Working Group.


The committee will explore opportunities to evaluate and enhance sustainability practices on South Farms, with the goal of expansion across the State of Illinois. Responsibilities include items such as:

  • Develop a plan for evaluating/inventorying existing sustainable land management practices on South Farms on non-research land and for increasing the sustainability of the South Farms land management practices.

    • The plan should account for crop rotations, soil management, nutrient application, and pest management.  

    • The plan should consider the needs and wishes of the departments that rely on the productivity of this land for financial return.  

    • The plan should offer detailed recommendations, benefits/costs of implementation, and estimated reductions in greenhouse gas emissions from adopted practices.

  • Update Agronomy Handbook with relevant and recommended sustainable land management practices.

  • Work with interested tenants on University-owned land to showcase the recommended sustainable land management practices in the updated Agronomy Handbook.

No description has been provided yet.

Project Team

  • Primary Contact:

    Meredith Moore

    Project Leader:

    Adam Davis

    Team Members:

    • Allen Parrish
    • Jonathan Mosley
    • Ben Gramig
    • Emily Heaton
    • Martin Williams
    • Megan Matthews
    • Dennis Bowman
    • Anita Million
    • Morgan White
    • Ximing Cai


  • Approved March 13, 2021
    Approved by Sustainability Sub-Council