You are here

Resilience Sustainability Working Advisory Team (SWATeam) (In Progress)

Project History


The Resilience Commitment is focused on climate adaptation and community capacity-building to deal with a changing climate and resulting extremes.

The Resilience Working Advisory Team, formed in 2019, was charged because of a joint climate resilience proclamation from the University of Illinois and the cities of Urbana and Champaign. Its charge is to liaise with SWATeams to develop recommendations that may be sent to the iCAP Working Group, the cities, or both.

This Working Advisory Team will carry on the work previously begun by the Champaign County Climate Resilience Task Force (see below), bringing campus and the greater community together to address what must be done to prepare for vulnerabilities to extreme weather and other results of climate change.

Working Advisory Teams report annually on progress made toward Illinois Climate Action Plan (iCAP) objectives in their area of focus, and the RWAT will work toward incorporating resilience into the forthcoming 2020 iCAP.

Project Team

  • Primary Contact:

    Sowmiya Raju

    Project Leader:

    Ximing Cai

    Team Members:

    • Morgan White
    • Scott Tess
    • Warren Lavey
    • Sally McConkey
    • Lisa Merrifield
    • Rita Morocoima-Black
    • Lacey Rains
    • Dennis Donaldson
    • Kimmy Chuang
    • Meredith Moore


  • Proposed January 1, 2016
    Proposed by Ben McCall
    Approved March 2, 2016
    Approved by Interim Chancellor Barb Wilson