You are here

Zero Waste SWATeam (Ongoing)

Project History

  • 10/16/2020

    Attached are the meeting minutes and chat from the Zero Waste SWATeam meeting on 10/16.

    Discussed were the following topics:

    Reducing Food Waste

  • 10/3/2020

    The Zero Waste SWATeam met 10-02-2020 to discuss the iCAP 2020 objectives for Zero Waste, and one of the topics was regarding the new objective for implementing a Food Literacy Project in campus dining halls.


This team was previously known as the Purchasing, Waste, and Recycling (PWR) SWATeam.

This team is focused on how to best maintain and improve the University’s food procurement, purchasing, waste management, and recycling programs. The group will work to implement a Zero Waste movement (like that described in the iCAP), which will require a “whole system” approach to resource management that implicates purchasing, maximizes recycling, minimizes waste, reduces consumption and ensures that products are made to be reused, repaired, or recycled back into the system. This system will reduce greenhouse gases by saving energy by reducing energy consumption associated with extracting, processing, and transporting raw materials and waste, and by reducing and eventually eliminating the need for landfills and incinerators.

This group will address the University’s progress on meeting the iCAP goals in regards to purchasing, waste, and recycling. It will look to help further the progress of the iCAP’s targets of a Zero-Waste campus policy. The group will approach this by working to make campus purchasing entities responsible for costs of the disposal of the products consumed and by avoiding the purchasing of environmentally irresponsible products and corporations (based on carbon and other environmental indicators).

Goals from the iCAP that this team will look to take to improve and take to the next level are:

  • Increase the rate of recycling for non-construction and demolition waste from its current rate of 50%.
  • Not only improve construction and demolition waste recycling for LEED projects, but smaller ones on campus as well.

Project Team

  • Primary Contact:

    Julija Sakutyte

    Project Leader:

    Timothy Stark (co-chair) and Brajendra Kumar Sharma (co-chair)

    Team Members:

    • Yuanhui Zhang
    • Caitlyn Aylmer
    • Shantanu Pai
    • Aaron Finder
    • Thurman Etchison
    • Mike Olinger
    • Cassidy Steel
    • Leah Courtney
    • Maddy Liberman


  • Started March 12, 2014
    Started by Ben McCall