You are here

Projects Updates for Sustainability Council

Search tips:
  • This form will search for words in the title OR the description. If you would like to search for the same term(s) across both the title and description, enter the same search term(s) in both fields.
  • This form will search for any of the words you enter in a field, not the exact phrase you enter. If you would like to search for an exact phrase, put double quotes (") around the phrase. For example, if you search for Bike Path you will get results containing either the word Bike OR the word Path, but if you search for "Bike Path" you will get results containing the exact phrase Bike Path.


  1. March 2017 Sustainability Council Recommendations Approved

  2. EGen003 PPA term recommendation - Successful

    Following the completion of the iWG Assessment, the EGen003 PPA Term recommendation was discussed at the Sustainability Council meeting in March 2017.  In June 2017, Provost Wilkins said, "On behalf of the Chancellor, I'm writing to convey approval of the recommendations. Please do begin encouraging action on the items mentioned. Thank you and the rest of the Council for the diligent and forward-looking thinking on these items."

    Regarding the EGen003 PPA Term, the next steps are "When the next RFP for a clean energy PPA is planned, seek campus / system approval to request pricing for both a 10 year agreement and a 20 year agreement, through Prairieland Energy, Inc."

    See Sustainability Council approvals here.

    See transmittal of EGen003 PPA Term here. 

    See iWG Assessment of EGen003 PPA Term here.

    See SWATeam recommendation EGen003 PPA Term here.

    For future updates on this topic, please see Power Purchase Agreements for Clean Energy

  3. Conservation Budget Recommendation (ECONS003) - Chacellor's approval

  4. March 2017 Sustainability Council Recommendations & Next Steps

    Director of iSEE, Evan DeLucia, summarized three recommendations presented at the March 2017 Sustainability Council meeting: EGen005 Rooftop Solar Standard, EGen003 Power Purchase Agreement (PPA) Timeline, and ECons003 Conservation Budget, as well as the next steps, for Chancellor Jones’ approval.

    We followed up with the Sustainability Council on April 25, 2017, with the attached file.

    See Transmittal of EGen005 Rooftop Solar Standards here.

    See iWG Assessment for SWATeam recommendation EGen005 Rooftop Solar Standard here.

    See SWATeam recommendation EGen005 Rooftop Solar Standards here.

    See Transmittal of EGen003 PPA term to the Sustainability Council here.

    See iWG Assessment of EGen003 PPA Term here.

    See SWATeam recommendation EGen003 PPA Term here.

    See Transmittal of ECONS003 Conservation Budget to the Provost Office

    See iWG Assessment of ECONS003 Conservation Budget

    ee SWATeam Recommendation of ECONS003 Conservation Budget


  5. iWG meeting minutes March 28, 2017

  6. iWG meeting agenda March 28, 2017

  7. Conservation Budget Recommendation (ECONS003) - Transmittal to the Council

    ECONS003 Conservation Budget Recommendation was transmitted to the Office of the Provost on March 6, 2017. The Council discussed the recommendation at this meeting.

    See iWG Assessment of ECONS003 Conservation Budget

    See SWATeam Recommendation of ECONS003 Conservation Budget

  8. Jul 9 2015 Minutes

    see file

    Several SWATeam recommendations were discussed.  Also, an update from the Sustainability Council was provided:

    "Review of Council Meeting/Status of iCAP Approval - The Sustainability Council meeting went very well with lots of good discussion. There were not too many serious objections to the iCAP. They would like to see financial information, such as cost-benefit analysis on projects. This information will be included in the study for accelerating our carbon neutrality date. The cover letter from the Chancellor affirming our commitment will include language about the current fiscal climate in Illinois. The Chancellor was keen to be able to reach carbon neutrality by 2035. Other concerns were in regard to the net zero space item and they suggested a space audit be included in the iCAP."

  9. update from Ben McCall

    Dear iWG Members,

    Attached is the complete "Version 2" of the 2015 iCAP, which I have just sent out to the SWATeams.  I'd be grateful if you could look through the document and think about what, if any, big picture topics we should plan to discuss at our meeting next week...and then please drop me an email with your suggestions.

    By the way, our first Sustainability Council meeting yesterday was a great success -- thanks in large part to all of your help in targeting the level of the presentation.  I heard indirectly that the Chancellor and the VCR both thought the presentation was just at the right level of detail, and the entire group seemed to be engaged in the process.

    Thanks again for all of your help,


    <<link to SWATeam message>>

    Attached Files: 
  10. FY13 Sustainability Council members

    Associated Project(s): 

    Sustainability Council Members

    The Sustainability Council was put in place in 2008 to help lead sustainability efforts at the University of Illinois. The Council is comprised of campus leaders and student and faculty representatives. It provides strategic direction and oversight of the campus sustainability initiative.

    2012-2013 Sustainability Council Members



    Phyllis Wise, Chair

    Vice President and Chancellor

    Peter Schiffer

    Vice Chancellor for Research

    Renee Romano

    Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

    Dan Peterson

    Vice Chancellor for Institutional Advancement

    Ilesanmi Adesida

    Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost

    Ruth Watkins

    Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

    Barbara Minsker

    Associate Provost Fellow and Professor Civil and Environmental Engineering

    William Shilts

    Executive Director, Prairie Research Institute

    Marika Nell

    Student Sustainability Committee

    Kevin Wolz

    Student Sustainability Committee

    Pradeep Khanna

    Associate Chancellor and Acting Director, Center for a Sustainable Environment

    Jack Dempsey

    Executive Director, Facilities and Services

    Stephanie Lage

    Assistant Director, Center for a Sustainable Environment